Professional Development with CELTA&DELTA

Professional Development with CELTAHi readers and bloggers and teachers! If you still don’t know anything about CELTA, please read this post carefully because this is a great chance to start to think of having a CELTA Certificate.

I myself had the opportunity to attend a 1-month intensive CELTA course within the body of International House in London. You know what? CELTA course actually doesn’t aim to train people already a graduate of English Language Teaching or Foreign Language Education departments. It targets people in different fields or even not working.  None of my classmates, who were from various countries, graduated from FLE Department; however, they were taking the course to be able to teach English around the world. Namely, CELTA Certificate has validity for the ones who want to teach English in most parts of the world. By the way, if you wonder how I got this chance – I mean doing CELTA in London, Anadolu University, where I am still working as an instructor, sponsored me.

I’m aware that most people who are going to read this post are English teachers or instructors. Please do not prejudge the course. You might be considering it unnecessary because you were already taught how to teach English at universities. If so, I have a question for you: do you think the education that we get during university years is enough for our career in real classrooms? I say no, not unfortunately! I graduated from FLE Department in METU. I had great teachers and great opportunities to develop myself during 4 years. However, as for teaching practice, we need much more than that. Even during CELTA course you have more chances to practice teaching and to have feedbacks and to reflect on your own work and your friends’ in the same TP (Teaching Practice) group.

When it comes to the experience itself, the course is awesome to contribute to your teaching knowledge and practice. It’s really concentrated and full of practical ideas. All tutors have great experience in teaching. During this 1-month course, you have 3 written assignments including observations etc., 8 observed TPs, 3 unobserved TPs, and 2 observations, and sessions on lexis, grammar and all skills by 2 different tutors. After all TPs, your tutor and your friends in the group criticize you in every aspect. You get not only oral feedback but also a written one. You always see others’ work and learn from them as well.

In short, the atmosphere is for the ones who love pace, collaboration, contemplation, reflections, feedback, learning and teaching simultaneously, criticism and a lot more.

Now, I intend to do DELTA within the body of ITI (International Training Institute) in Istanbul, but still searching it thoroughly. Roughly I can state that it consists of 3 different modules: 1st Mod: the exam, 2nd Mod: the coursework portfolio including teaching practice again, 3rd Mod: the extended assignment. You can do the modules in any order and at any time. I believe it will be a great experience to progress your career even further if you dedicate yourself to teaching English as a foreign language. As soon as I experience it, no doubt I will share it here with you.

Sedef KONUK

FLE METU, 2012

Instructor at Anadolu University

Leave a comment